Coming This Fall – “Which Bible Translation Should I Use?”

There’s not a week that goes by that I don’t get to explain various Bible translations to one of my customers. It is a very enjoyable part of my job. Yesterday I met with my B&H Publishing Group rep and one of the first books he showed me was Which Bible Translation Should I Use? edited by Andreas Köstenberger and David A. Croteau. The book will feature four different scholars who will “make a case for the Bible translation he represents.” Representing the NIV 2011 is Douglas Moo, for the ESV is Wayne Grudem, for the HCSB is Ray Clendenen and for the NLT is Philip Comfort. This is really an excellent lineup of scholars for their respective translations. I always encourage my customers to not limit themselves to only one translation but to use multiple translations in their studies.

Which Bible Translation Should I Use? is from B&H Publishing Group. It will be a paperback with 272 pages and sell for $14.99. Watch for it this September or October.

About Louis

I am a 1997 graduate of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.
This entry was posted in Bibles, Forthcoming. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coming This Fall – “Which Bible Translation Should I Use?”

  1. Do they comment on the Common English Bible? I picked up a free Kindle edition that was on offer for a couple of days but haven’t gotten into it much yet. Kindle is not my favourite way to read the Bible. I am thinking this is something like a revision of the NRSV, but I’m not at all sure. If you’ve had a chance to work with it, I’d be interested in your own comment.

    Like

    • Louis says:

      Terrance,
      As far as I know only the four translations will be covered (NIV2011, HCSB, NLT, ESV). I’ve not had much opportunity to work with the CEB but have read portions of it. It is advertised as a fresh translation and not as a revision of any existing translation. I’ve been working on getting a couple of the translators to come to the store for an event featuring the new translation. That event is still in the works but we’ve put it off a little so that it could be closer to 2013 which promises a new study Bible with the CEB as its base. The event could then feature not only the translation but the new study Bible as well. As soon as we have something booked I’ll do a post on it.

      Like

  2. Jon Talbot says:

    Too bad Bruce Metzger isn’t alive to include a section on the NRSV. The editor of the volume seems to imply that these four translations are the ones from which we should choose, eh? Anyway, thank you Louis for consistently excellent work on your blog. As a former bookseller and book buyer, I know your days are full. Your labor of love here is topnotch.

    Peace & Blessings,
    Jon

    Like

    • Joe Matos says:

      Jon,

      Each of the versions represented has been produced near the end of last century (NLT, 1996) and since the turn of the century (ESV, 2001; HCSB, 2004, NIV2011). Each represents a different position on the translation philosophy spectrum: from formal to almost paraphrase. Going from more formal to more dynamic they would be: ESV, HCSB, NIV2011, NLT.

      Like

  3. dkmt says:

    Just a quick correction, I assume the NLT they’re talking about is the 2nd edition which is also since the turn of the century.

    Like

Leave a Reply

