With Pastors Like This Who Needs Skeptics?

Last week while I was at Acton University I was browsing through An Introduction to Biblical Ethics by Robertson McQuilkin and Paul Copan (IVP Academic). I came across this quote from a mainline Protestant pastor.

“I think the Bible is wrong about most everything. . . . I think the Bible is wrong about cosmology, history, our future, Jesus, and God. The texts were all written by human beings without any supernatural or special revelation. . . . Don’t misunderstand. I enjoy the Bible. It is a marvelous human book. I read it and study it with all the critical means at my disposal. In so doing, I will do my part to undermine its Authority which I think is the next important step for religious freedom.” (579)

If I could adapt a line from Professor Digory Kirke (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe), “I wonder what they are teaching in seminaries these days.”

Introduction to Biblical Ethics

About Louis

I am a 1997 graduate of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.
This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to With Pastors Like This Who Needs Skeptics?

  1. Why be surprised the Universities have been teaching this sort of thing for decades, even more than a century. The German ‘Higher Criticism’ started it now even Bible Colleges lean towards taking the Bible as a human document. Darwin’s pseudo science also caused a falling away even further. Since “the whole world lies int he Wicked One,” it is what we expect. In the latter days some shall depart from the Faith”..

    Like

  2. ksusanh says:

    who was the mainline protestant pastor?

    Like

  3. J.W. Wartick says:

    What’s the context? From someone like Copan, I’d be surprised if this line of thinking was being endorsed.

    Like

    • Louis says:

      Hi J.W.
      Copan was certainly not endorsing it. He was explaining the reason for differences among Christians. The line right before the quote says, “Witness the cultural capitulation of various mainline denominations, bowing to the spirit of the age.” He follows it with this: “While the disagreement may exist between Christians about Scripture’s demands, the problem here is not Scripture’s clarity but its very authority.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

