Around the Web

Years ago I stole the tag line “around the web” from fellow blogger Jeff at Scripture Zealot. Other bloggers of course do the same in highlighting items of interest on the web using various titles to describe their posts. I liked the simplicity and clarity of Jeff’s line. He does it more often than I do but I always find his selection intriguing. If you’ve never visited Jeff’s blog you should. There is a kind of transparency and humility that I find appealing. I say this just to give another “thank you” to Jeff for his continuted efforts in blogging and pointing me to some very interesting links from the web. Here’s a round up of some items I’ve found (yes, some I found from Jeff’s blog).

Jeff provides four links to those who are gave their selection of the best books of 2014. Among those are selections from Desiring God, Monergism, Grace for Sinners, and Tim Challies. I had been thinking of doing something similar. Jeff saved me a lot of time. Thank you.

Kevin DeYoung talks about 10 books that shaped him as a Christian. He writes, “Not surprisingly, given the way God often works, I read all of these books for the first time (except for the last one) between the ages of 18 and 22. Pastors, campus ministers, professors, publishers, parents, take note: get good books in the hands of college students.”

Roger Olsen has some compelling thoughts on Terrorism is wrong; So is Ridiculing People’s Faiths. He says, “Ridicule has no place in religious discourse except in the rare instances where a religion is simply invented for profit and/or engages in abuse (sexual, physical or spiritual). But in those cases it is the leaders, not the poor, benighted followers, who ought to be ridiculed.”

Timothy from Catholic Bibles offers a first look at the Didache Bible complete with pictures.

Tim Gombis offers a quote from Beverly Roberts Gaventa regarding the sheer length of N.T. Wright’s  Paul and the Faithfulness of God. She encourages young scholars not to make this their model. She cites a couple of other works which have had enormous impact on scholars while still being rather brief. See his post “In Praise of Brevity.” This brought back memories when I was writing my master’s thesis. My first reader, Bruce Ware, kept encouraging me to cut back, abbreviate, summarize this argument here, etc. My thesis was far better, and shorter, because of this advice.

Justin Taylor has a nice chart showing the difference between the telephone game and the transmission of the New Testament manuscripts. You hear this objection often from skeptics who attempt to question the reliability of the New Testament.

There is a new website dedicated to explaining and defending Amillennialism. It is full of articles, charts, recommended books and loads of other helpful resources for those who want to know more or better defend amillennialism. Check it out here.

About Louis

I am a 1997 graduate of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.
This entry was posted in Around the Web. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Around the Web

  1. I don’t think much of my blog or think it has much of an impact and then I read something like that. I don’t know what to say but thank you. I really do appreciate your blog too. So many interesting topics that aren’t often seen anywhere else.
    Jeff

    Like

  2. Pingback: Wrestling, Reading and Compliments | Scripture Zealot 2

Leave a Reply

