In Memoriam – Charles Ryrie, Gilbert Morris, and Buck Rambo

In the past couple of weeks the Christian industry has been hit by a couple of major losses. We have seen the death of seminary professor and author of the Ryrie Study Bible, Charles Ryrie; author of the 40-volume “House of Winslow” series Gilbert Morris; and the patriarch of the Southern gospel music family The Rambos, Buck Rambo. The one I’m most familiar with is, of course, Charles Ryrie. Many, many years ago (long before my student days) I was studying an issue in Christology. I tried to call Dallas Seminary a few times to see if I could talk to Dr. Ryrie. After several attempts his secretary told me that she was going to give me his home phone number and that he said I could call him at home that Saturday. I was amazed at this generous offer. I called him that Saturday and we had a wonderful conversation as he patiently answered all my questions.

I don’t really need to know that much about the other two gentlemen to know that they have each in their own way contributed to the church with their respective gifts. Morris by way of fiction and Buck through his music. It’s rare that so many departments of our store are affected by death (Bibles, academic, fiction, and music). We remember them and will keep their friends and family in our prayers.

Charles Ryrie (1925-2016)

GilbertMorris

Gilbert Morris (1929-2016)

buckrambo

Buck Rambo (1932-2016)

About Louis

I am a 1997 graduate of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.
This entry was posted in Memoriam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

