Update From Louis

Here’s an update from Louis (former curator of this blog) on what he’s up to these days:

“In July of 2015 I moved over to the publishing division as the publicist for Baker Academic and Brazos Press. It’s been quite the learning curve going from retail to publicity. I was at the store for 15 years and loved the job. Essentially my current job is finding media publicity for our new releases. I frequently work with producers for print, radio, and TV. In a manner of speaking I’m still “selling” books but my customer base has changed. Instead of a customer walking in the store I’m selling to producers, journalists and radio show hosts.

I’m also working closely with authors as I coordinate interviews for them. We have a wonderful group of authors and it is a privilege to be able to work with them. Another aspect of my job is to sit in on pub board and titling meetings. The former is a group composed of marketing, editors, and sales staff to consider new projects that are being proposed by our acquisitions editors for publication. In titling meetings we brainstorm ideas for the title of a book. So far I’ve yet to propose a winning title so if there is a title you hate I didn’t do it. Of course, if there is one you love I have to give credit to someone else.

Finally, I do still get to do book tables which allow me to get back to my retail roots. The only difference is most of my book tables are now out of state instead of in Michigan and I’m only selling Baker titles. To date I’ve been to California (Los Angeles), Texas (San Antonio and Dallas), Illinois (Chicago), Tennessee (Knoxville), and Missouri (St. Louis). I’ve been to conferences with as few as a couple of hundred attendees to one I did this year in Los Angeles that had about 30,000. Later this year I’ll be in Massachusetts (Boston) and Rhode Island for the annual ETS and AAR/SBL meetings.

Some of the projects I’m currently working on include The Year of Small Things by Sarah Arthur and Erin Wasinger, Salvation by Allegiance Alone by Matthew Bates, The Old Testament is Dying by Brent Strawn, The Epistle to the Ephesians by Karl Barth, Christian Doctrine and the Old Testament by Gary Anderson, and Israel Matters by Gerald McDermott. Needless to say my plate is very full.”

About Christopher

I am husband to London, and father of Maggie and Russell. I have worked as Academic Buyer at Baker Book House since 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

